Atta Bis-kut (Whole Wheat Cookies)


This is my first recipe on our blog!! YAY!!

I have been planning to digitally document some of my recipes for months, but with two boys in high school, I just never got around to doing so. Hopefully this is a start, and we can keep the momentum going.

Enjoy these atta cookies I make often, from a recipe I have worked on, tried and tested. The good news is that they are relatively healthier than most other cookies, especially ones you would buy at a store.

Makes about 40 large cookies.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cup atta
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat graham flour (or substitute this with atta as well, if gram flour is not available)
  • 1/4 cup sooji/semolina
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp (2 pinches) baking powder
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon green cardamom seed coarsely ground powder

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 360 degrees
  2. In a bowl, mix the dry ingredients.
  3. Add the ghee, and mix well.
  4. Add the milk and knead with hands till dough is fairly soft.
  5. Form the dough into a 1 1/2 inch thick log, and roll in butter paper/cling film.
  6. Freeze for about 30 minutes.
  7. Take the dough out of the freezer, and cut into about 1/4th inch thick slices.
  8. Put on greased cookie sheet, and bake for 18 minutes (or till they are golden brown), on the middle rack. Make sure the cookies are at a distance from each other, as they will spread when heated.
  9. When done, let them cool for a couple minutes, and serve!!

10 comments

  1. OMG!! I’m sitting at Ravi Massi’s house right now, eating these cookies!! They are the BESTEST!! Just awesome!!
    Mom – I think I’m gaining back some of that weight I thought I had lost 😉

  2. Wow these look great! and I can see that they taste awesome too !!! My next baking project then 😀

  3. in the ingredient list you mentioned 1/4 cup butter and in the recipe you mention ghee. could you please clarify and what is more preferred for an authentic panjabi cookie taste .
    thanks

    • Actually I have tried with both and they do come out more khasta with the butter,but you have to add a lil more butter than ghee-these were made with ghee.I hope that helps you with your query. Ravi

      Sent from my iPad

  4. Hi … Thans for the atta biscuit recipe…dont u hv one for suji rusks?? Pls if u do , can i hv it ..thanks

  5. I tried these cookies and they come out yummy. Highly recommend everyone to try these. Although instead of 18 mins, it took almost 35-40 mins at 360 F for the cookies to become brown.

    • I am glad u all liked them. If you like them really browned you can keep them for a longer time . 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. Hello Ravi,

    I tried this recipe with a little twist from my side. Reduced the sugar to half of the orginal recipe and and added a little Jeera and they came out superb.. Thanks for sharing such a simple and health friendly recipe.

Leave a comment